Cyprus – 4 Areas


It would be natural to think that island of Cyprus belongs to the Republic of Cyprus.
But it’s not true…

There are actually 4 political areas on the island of Cyprus:
-the Republic of Cyprus (recognized internationally);
-the occupied part of Cyprus – Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (not recognized internationally);
-the UN buffer zone – kind of border line between the Republic of Cyprus and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (it’s about 4% of the island’s area);
-Akrotiri and Dhekelia – the British military sovereign base areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial