Nepal – Prayer flags

Prayer flags in Kathmandu
Prayer flags in Kathmandu

While visiting Nepal or Tibet for sure you’ll see plenty of prayer flags. You can find 5 colors of them that represent 5 basic elements. Blue color symbolizes the sky, yellow is for earth, green for water, red for fire, and white symbolizes air.


Podczas wizyty w Nepalu lub Tybecie, nie sposób nie zauważyć rozwieszonych w wielu miejscach flag modlitewnych. Występują one w 5 kolorach, które symbolizują podstawowe żywioły. Kolor niebieski odnosi się do nieba, żółty do ziemi, zielony do wody, czerwony do ognia, a biały symbolizuje powietrze.

8 thoughts on “Nepal – Prayer flags”

    1. Tak dość naturalnie pasują 🙂
      Chciaż miałam pewne wątpliwości co do wody…

  1. I, too, had no idea about the flag colors! I haven’t even arrived at work and I have already learned something!

  2. Hi!
    I also wasn’t exactly about what every color symbolizes even though I am from Nepal 🙂
    Prayer flags in Nepal are almost always only at Buddhist monasteries and households. Or sometimes when the site is holy to both Hindus and Buddhists (there are many such religious sites). I love them too! They put my heart at peace, especially when they are fluttering in the air.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial